The New Year’s Resolution

246896_10151996330655478_1235909329_n

Dear Readers,

While you may not know me personally, but, I wanted to thank you for reading this blog and for sharing my story. I never meant to shut my family out of my life; on the contrary, I would very much like to include them in it. That is all I have ever wanted. However, my parents felt that my being “gay” is something that was to be ashamed of and asked me not to tell anyone about it. So here I am, almost two years later writing blindly to those that want to listen. It is New Year’s Eve—December 31, 2013—and I am a changed man from where I was a year ago. “Coming out” was the greatest gift I could have given myself, but along with it came the greatest pain I have ever felt. I plan to use this blog as a way to navigate my progress during the past few years, and intend to be a listening ear for others who may have struggled with coming out to their family and friends. For those of you still closeted, I confirm to you, that despite the pain you have suffered, things will eventually get better and you are not alone.

Sincerely, The Open Closet

 

PS. THIS IS JUST AN EXCERPT FROM MY BOOK: “The Open Closet: Letters From A Gay Man” (Available on AMAZON & KINDLE)

If you enjoyed reading this letter and would like to read more, please consider purchasing a copy and help spread awareness of issues  plaguing the LGBT community.

http://www.amazon.com/Open-Closet-Letters-Gay-Man/dp/1530356520/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457716930&sr=8-1&keywords=open+closet+david+ferrell

 

 

7 thoughts on “The New Year’s Resolution

  1. Congratulations,

    As much as I miss you, your move to Chicago has been the best thing you could have done for yourself. I know things have been hard and seem to be getting better. Life is full of trial and error. It is a journey that you can try to plan for but those plans will be broken. This blog is not only a huge stepping stone for you but I hope it will be for others as well. Thank you for sharing, love you very much.

  2. David, even though I only met you right before your move, I could sense your deep and sensitive soul. I am drawn to you as a friend because your spirit reminds me of my uncle. Lambert was his name and he was one of the most flamboyant gay men I have ever run into. I remember the day I learned he was gay, I was about 10. I asked why he and his roommate David slept in the same room. He looked at me and said, “you know how Grandma and Grandpa love each other?”, I said “yes”. Lambert said, “David and I love each other the same way.” It made sense to me. I saw my mother and my Grandparents love him and David just as much a they loved me. I just didn’t ever believe that a love like that could be wrong. Lambert wore the shortest shorts and carried a purse and we were watched whenever we went out. Some admired his sense of style, some looked at him in disgust because of his voice and homosexual mannerisms. To me he was a loving and caring man who helped raise me. He bought my first bikini, took me to register to vote and opened his home to me for over 2 years. He was more of a father to me than my own father. He taught me to be open minded about anything, but be a strong woman. You remind me of him, even your smile is similar. We lost Lambert to Aids in 1996 and I miss him everyday. I will be one of your followers, supporters and friends even if it is from a far. I applaud your journey and want to stand next to you and fight for equality. You deserve the best that life has to offer, no matter your preferences!

  3. It is great that you can recap and move on. 2014 is your year. Coming out is hard. I never told my parents. They are gone. My brother was very indifferent, to say the least. A long time friend did not talk to me for months, angering other friends who knew. At an age much older than you I guess, the process is still ongoing. Good luck for a great year.

    1. Thank you Rich! Coming out is definitely something that effects everyone, not just the individual who is gay. Even those who come out later than others can suffer the same. Each person has a story to tell, thank you for sharing yours. I hope you and your brother may one day reconcile the relationship. Thank you for reading and sharing! Wishing you the best!

Leave a Reply

