Sick

5197_218527935477_4966120_n

Dear Readers,

In many ways, I felt bad for my dad. His reaction was the one I had feared most but, when it came right down to it, he was the one who listened to me the most, and was most sincere in trying to understand the situation. He had felt somehow responsible for my being “gay” asking if he had not been supportive enough, if he had not spent enough time with me doing father and son things. I told him “no” it was not his fault, and referred him back to my letter.

Sincerely, The Open Closet

 

PS. THIS IS JUST AN EXCERPT FROM MY BOOK: “The Open Closet: Letters From A Gay Man” (Available on AMAZON & KINDLE)

If you enjoyed reading this letter and would like to read more, please consider purchasing a copy and help spread awareness of issues  plaguing the LGBT community.

http://www.amazon.com/Open-Closet-Letters-Gay-Man/dp/1530356520/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457716930&sr=8-1&keywords=open+closet+david+ferrell

 

13 thoughts on “Sick

  1. You were wise to tell your parents the truth. This is the only way for you to live a free and happy life. Stay strong! I hope your family realizes one day soon how much you need their support!

    1. Thanks talacarson, I appreciate your sentiments and support. My family and I have slowly been mending the wounds, but, they still do not accept me. I will be patient, although it is sometimes very difficult. Thank you again for reading and commenting. Wishing you the best as well!

      1. You are their blood and soul; I think your parents will accept you. Never lose the hope! Be patient and don’t let the things get you down. Lots of warmth to you!

  2. You are so kind David, and I agree there is a much bigger picture. You are meant for great things…like breaking down walls and prejudices. The pain you have felt makes you so much more sensitive and kind. You have a softness that I admire:)

    1. Thank you Rochelle—if it were not for people like you, people like me would get lost in the shuffle. I appreciate your encouragement and support. Like you, I believe that the pain I have felt will one day be of great purpose! Thank you for reading and sharing! Wishing you the best!

  3. I love that you are writing. I don’t think I’ve ever told you how well you write. I knew some of this, but I never knew all of it. It breaks my heart more than a little to know what you had to go through, and it makes me feel so much better knowing that you have friends that accept you and care for you, as well as Kyle, who is so loving to you. Some will never understand, others may well come around.

    1. Thank you Zach! I am so happy to have you in my life, and to be able to call you my friend! You have been right by my side from the beginning. Thank you for reading, sharing, and making me cry (for real…its happening right now) 🙂

  4. I know I have never met you, but I feel so much love towards you after reading this post. First off, it is so fantastic that you have the strength to share all of this! I hope it is therapeutic for you to write it. Second, telling my parents was terrifying for me as well. I literally opened my mouth several times with both (I told them separately) and no words came out. Personally, I can not stand how people hide behind religion and use it to wrap themselves in when situations that scare them or that they do not understand come up. I wish you the best of luck with your family in the future. For better or worse, they are a part of us. Be proud of yourself for this post!

    1. Thank you Adam! Each post gets a little easier to write, and it is very therapeutic to finally rid these feelings from my mind. As you have noticed, I try to write honestly—some days it means that I have to breakdown in tears and put myself back in the same mindset that I was in, when I actually was going through the experience. Other days, I try to be lighthearted and express my feelings using humor. There is no easy way to tell someone your biggest fears, your mistakes, or failures—sometimes you just have to do it, if not for your own clarity! I appreciate your continued readership and support. It’s nice to know among all the many strangers in the universe, two people can connect over a lifetime without ever meeting, and become friends. Thanks for being mine!

      1. I’m honored that we are friends and that we are traveling this blogging journey together, both having started at similar times! I also really appreciate your in-depth and insightful replies and comments on my posts. P.S. I love the pictures you included with your ‘Coming Out’ posts. So cool!

      2. Thanks Adam—I chose those pictures specifically because of their double meaning “coming out” of course, and kind of like “unraveling” the bandages 🙂 Kyle Thompson the photographer is really amazing, you should Google some of his other works!

  5. I am sure it was tough to tell this story. Thanks for being brave enough to share it. A young friend of mine waited until he was 18 and out of high school to tell his parents, which came in the way of an argument. I asked him to remember that his father lived for 18 years with a certain set of expectations and that was taken away with one quick comment (and argument). After 4 years the parents are a little more accepting, not completely. I hope it is true that time heals all wounds. I guess we all live with the belief, “It gets better,” and so I believe it will get better for you.

    1. Thanks Rich! Being that it has been almost 2 years, I would like to thank that I am almost half way there—but, who can count how long it will take for my parents to accept me. I just have to keep living each day as “me” and be open and willing to accept their love and support when they choose to give it. Thanks for your continued reading and sharing. Wishing you the best!

Leave a Reply

