The Men

11221534_10155629715490478_2977267713424430870_n

Dear Readers,

While I had not officially “come out” to my family as a college student,  the idea of being surrounded by people of all walks of life, of numerous ages, races, and sexual orientation, prompted me to experiment with the feelings that I had kept closeted for many years prior. The following includes descriptions of the “men” that came into my life during college, through a diverse array of brief encounters, and short-lived relationships explain why I have always sought approval from my family, teachers, and peers.  If I would have had the courage back in high school to “come out,” things may have turned out differently for me. It is true that I may have started dating guys sooner, and by now my family may have come to accept me as being gay, however, sometimes things work out for the best.

Sincerely, The Open Closet

PS. THIS IS JUST AN EXCERPT FROM MY BOOK: “The Open Closet: Letters From A Gay Man” (Available on AMAZON & KINDLE)

If you enjoyed reading this letter and would like to read more, please consider purchasing a copy and help spread awareness of issues  plaguing the LGBT community.

http://www.amazon.com/Open-Closet-Letters-Gay-Man/dp/1530356520/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457716930&sr=8-1&keywords=open+closet+david+ferrell

 

12 thoughts on “The Men

  1. David, I never knew that first story. That is awful for a first experience. That was hard for me to read, but knowing well you are doing now helps.

    1. Thank you Mark…as they say “I’ve had to kiss a lot of toads waiting for Prince Charming” but each, however much hurt they might have caused at the time, helped me learn from my mistakes, and taught me not to make the same mistakes twice! Thanks for reading!

  2. David, I love your writing! I could read your words all day! I admire how you sectioned this post, it was effective and moving. Your openness and honesty continues to make me want to give you a huge hug. I’m right there with you on the guy who made you feel violated and used, I’ve been there. Good for you for putting yourself out there and writing that truth filled letter to your blind date. You are so in touch with your emotions. Everything you have been through, the emotional ups and downs, has fine tuned your ability to express yourself. Your boyfriend is a lucky man. Thanks for helping me visit memory lane in my mind with some of my old flings. 🙂

    1. In all honesty, it was exceptionally hard to write anything this week—I had things mapped out, exactly what I wanted to say, but when it came right down to doing it…I couldn’t. There was so much more, I could have said about each of “the men” but chose not to! The bad part about all of these failed relationships, is that at the time, I was too afraid to talk to anyone about them, and until now kept most of that information private, and to myself. It is such a relief to “let go” of all the things that have been built up inside of me, weighing me down, and keeping me from moving forward in my life…and in my relationships. I appreciate your thoughtfulness, your kind words, and I can always use hugs from my friends…its just what we do! Much love and respect for you my friend!

    1. Thank you Rich, it means so much when others can relate to the things that I write…if not for my own clarity, this is exactly why I write. I think you have also learned those lessons—and we will continue to grow and learn more, only this time we have our friends to help us! Thank you for reading and sharing! best wishes my friend!

  3. This was a brave post, my friend. The first section made me tear up reading it, it was tough. That situation sounded awful. I’m so sorry that happened to you… I never knew.

    1. Dear Zach, Somethings I have tried to forget it myself. I could have stopped it, I often blamed myself for not stopping it. But, it did happen—there was nothing anyone else could do. I just have to move past it, and be a better person for having experienced it. By being open about tough issues, others can hopefully learn from my mistakes, and I can prevent others from having these things happen to them. Thank you for your kind words. Much love and respect, my friend.

  4. This is so nicely written. I can’t believe how many “characters” you were able to get down in so few paragraphs. Thank you for the follow and for helping me discover your blog. Keep writing the truth.

    1. Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment! It is nice knowing there are others out there who can relate to the things I write about. I hope you will continue to frequent my blog, as I was lucky enough to stumble upon yours today myself! Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

