I Will Always Love You

229370_6878410477_7771_n

Dear Readers,

After coming out to my parents, I could not understand how their love for me could change. My love for them did not change, despite the terrible words they said. Neither my parents nor my sister had reacted the way I had envisioned and that in itself still confuses me. It is ironic how people who show so much compassion for you as a child can suddenly lose their affection for you when you tell them something they do not want to hear. I remained quiet—I knew that I had not changed. I hoped that one day they would love me again.

Sincerely, The Open Closet

 

PS. THIS IS JUST AN EXCERPT FROM MY BOOK: “The Open Closet: Letters From A Gay Man” (Available on AMAZON & KINDLE)

If you enjoyed reading this letter and would like to read more, please consider purchasing a copy and help spread awareness of issues  plaguing the LGBT community.

http://www.amazon.com/Open-Closet-Letters-Gay-Man/dp/1530356520/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457716930&sr=8-1&keywords=open+closet+david+ferrell

 

2 thoughts on “I Will Always Love You

    1. Thank you Rich! I started writing it on Valentine’s day…probably not a good idea, as I was balling my eyes out by the time I reached the end. But, at least the rest of the night made up for it! Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

