Naked

IMAG0202-2

Dear Readers,

Naked. Standing in front of a full length mirror, we are able to examine every inch of our skin, every sloping feature and curved bone structure, the sag of our belly, the never ending lines of freckles, and each strand of gray hair. Our body is a blank canvas, and as the years pass, a little more paint is added. Sometimes we play the role of an artist, inscribing our canvas with personalized markings, piercings, or the inevitable scar or blemish. Over time our canvas grows thick with layers of paint, etchings that are caused naturally that show our age. The wrinkles, the smile lines, the crow’s feet, the stretch marks all tell the story of where we have been and where we are going.

Sincerely, The Open Closet

 

PS. THIS IS JUST AN EXCERPT FROM MY BOOK: “The Open Closet: Letters From A Gay Man” (Available on AMAZON & KINDLE)

If you enjoyed reading this letter and would like to read more, please consider purchasing a copy and help spread awareness of issues  plaguing the LGBT community.

http://www.amazon.com/Open-Closet-Letters-Gay-Man/dp/1530356520/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457716930&sr=8-1&keywords=open+closet+david+ferrell

 

 

11 thoughts on “Naked

  1. Oh, David, as always your strength and openness inspires me and makes me wish that we were closer together. I think we would have so much fun meeting and having coffee, talking, etc. Good for you for being so ‘naked’ and honest. As always, I hope this is therapeutic for you and helpful. I too have worked so much on my body over the years with diet and exercise, but I am still ‘turned off’ by myself when I look in the mirror. Your post makes me wish I was nicer to myself. But it makes me sad that someone like you needs to remind me to love my body. It makes me sad that I don’t instinctively do that internally on my own. I suppose we all have a long way to go. We will get there, my friend. I was a fat kid too. And as Patrick says in episode 5 (if I may reference ‘Looking’), “I love ex-fatties, I feel like they’re always nicer people” Isn’t that the truth? We are both pretty nice!

    1. Awe, thank you Adam! Yes, I too believe Patrick was right! People who have been beat down or bullied, especially the ex-fatties make the nicest people!!! I would love it if we could hang out and have coffee on a regular basis…like at Central Perk 😉 yes…a “Friends” reference LOL

  2. Beauty is skin deep as they say. Because how we really feel lies untouchable by an exterior reflection. And David you capture this so well.

    Recently I lost an enormous amount of weight due to health issues. I am now donning sizes I wore in my model years as a teenager. Only I’ve aged. I am no longer an ingénue. I bear the scars of my surgeries, of the lessons I’ve lived. It has not been gentile.

    A friend with body issues of her own kept telling me how great I looked. I felt tired, weak, depressed. I had not gotten here of my own volition. I know what it feels like to be tired of another’s expectations that “I should be happy”.

    Now I have just begun to feel stronger. When I stand in front of the mirror, naked, revealed, trace the length of my scars I am proud. I guess you can say I’ve grown into my skin. However, I must admit I’m still not ready to share my new sculpture with a man. Not even with the lights were off.

    1. There is no shame in your decision. When you are ready, the right man will be there, and accept ALL of your beauty…till then be true to YOU…that is what I meant by being naked 🙂 and I feel so blessed to hear your story! Thank you for reading and sharing!

  3. Of course, I only know you through letters, but I think you are fine as you are and whatever you choose to become. There are a few people I may never meet, but I know are beautiful the way they are, David. I must say, however, I do not stand in front of the full length mirror very much myself. Maybe I will take a peek soon.

    1. Thank you Rich 🙂 and it doesn’t have to take a full length mirror to see the beauty within yourself…it comes from within, and you prove it to us, your readers, by your wonderful writing! Thank you again, my friend. You continue to inspire me!

    1. Unfortunately, food has an overwhelming effect on people…and it is always there when we need it most. Indulge yourself in the good things in life, that’s why its there…just be prepared to work harder the next time around at the gym LOL I appreciate your readership! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. Beautifully written and is oh so true. Too often people make changes to themselves for the wrong reasons thinking it’ll fix all their problems. But instead it only masks them. As an out fat-kid gay man, that self loathing never truly goes away. As I entered my 40′s last year I started to feel more comfortable with my body, but still get days when I look at myself in the mirror and can’t help but feel regret that I didn’t do more when younger to prevent this (even if it’s in my family’s genes). We all have good days and bad ones, it’s about making the best of them while we have them. x

Leave a Reply

