Self Portrait

Picture7

Looking back on my life several years from now, when I am old, I plan only to remember, not regret. I hope to wake up every day next to the man I love never wishing that life would have worked itself out differently, because I will have gotten everything that I have ever wanted. Each day will be a joyful celebration with family and friends because our love will unite, not tear down. My children will know what it means to be loved, without question; without regard for differences or judgements. I will tell each of them how special they are, and how blessed my life has been to be their daddy. And when I die it will not be because of a disease that I contracted. For a life lived fully, my breath will escape my body and I will simply pass away.

 

PS. THIS IS JUST AN EXCERPT FROM MY BOOK: “The Open Closet: Letters From A Gay Man” (Available on AMAZON & KINDLE)

If you enjoyed reading this letter and would like to read more, please consider purchasing a copy and help spread awareness of issues  plaguing the LGBT community.

http://www.amazon.com/Open-Closet-Letters-Gay-Man/dp/1530356520/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457716930&sr=8-1&keywords=open+closet+david+ferrell

 

5 thoughts on “Self Portrait

  1. I grew up with a heavy dose of “Why can’t you be more like…” usually my brother. I know that one well
    David, You are great, you do make a difference, you should be happy. It takes longer for some of us to find adventure. You will find it.

    1. Thank you Rich. I am very happy—sometimes it is just hard to see all that I have achieved, despite all the many comparisons my achievements are measured against. My fear of failure is linked to my desire to be accepted, to be heard, and not feel rejected. I am excited for the adventures that await me, and the mystery of the unexpected. I appreciate your sincerity, and understanding. Thank you for reading and commenting. Wishing you the best, my friend.

    1. Thank you Mark! I decided to try something new, and write more like a modern day poet, as it was hard to express any other way. Thanks for reading, and glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

