Life of the Party

269994_535273311687_6624017_n - Copy

Dear Readers,

As I blow out the candles of my birthday cake tonight this is the wish I will make: For one day, I am the leading man, not the gay best friend, or the black sheep son. My colors will all shine brightly together and they will see me with clarity. Today is my day. It is my party, and I will cry if I want too. But, I do not want to cry anymore…

Sincerely, The Open Closet

 

PS. THIS IS JUST AN EXCERPT FROM MY BOOK: “The Open Closet: Letters From A Gay Man” (Available on AMAZON & KINDLE)

If you enjoyed reading this letter and would like to read more, please consider purchasing a copy and help spread awareness of issues  plaguing the LGBT community.

http://www.amazon.com/Open-Closet-Letters-Gay-Man/dp/1530356520/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457716930&sr=8-1&keywords=open+closet+david+ferrell

 

12 thoughts on “Life of the Party

    1. Thank you Zach! It has been a year full of ups and downs, but, things are starting to change all around us. I hope that my wish will not take another year, but, only time will tell. Best wishes my friend. Thanks for reading 🙂

    1. Thank you. He is and always will be apart of me, and I of him. If we are separated, I never feel entirely whole. I appreciate you reading and commenting. Best wishes.

  1. I found myself feeling sad, David … and wanting your life not to have had such unpleasantness in it. Over some things (many things?) we have no control. On the other hand, I so envy your strength of character and of … well, body. Because you do have a strong body, which matches your character. I can imagine your firm hand shake. Anyway, this is a sadly beautiful post, rather like my favorite poet Percy Bysshe Shelley:

    Music, when soft voices die,
    Vibrates in the memory—
    Odours, when sweet violets sicken,
    Live within the sense they quicken.

    Rose leaves, when the rose is dead,
    Are heaped for the belovèd’s bed;
    And so thy thoughts, when thou art gone,
    Love itself shall slumber on.

    Best, Mark

    1. Thank you Mark, your words mean so much to me! Sometimes I feel like “why me” but then I realize…”if not me…someone else”…and I know I can push through! Best wishes my friend.

    1. Thank you Tom! I feel very blessed to have the love and support of many in the LGBT community and beyond…I am encouraged each day, and this helps me be hopeful for the good things that will happen in the near future! Thank you for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

