Beautiful Boy

1.2.16 164

Dear Readers,

My father used to tell me he always wanted a son, and the day I was born was the best day of his life. We used to reminisce about that day, him bragging that everyone in the waiting room kept teasing that he would have another girl, but, somehow he knew that I was going to be the boy he had been hoping for. I was born, 8lbs and 23in long, with blue eyes and golden brown hair—his beautiful boy! Whether or not I have remained the same “beautiful boy” in his eyes, and despite my upsets and disappointments, I have not changed. I am not the type of person who falls into a stereotypical label of any kind. I am just a common man, of common knowledge, with respect for myself and others like me. I am a gay man, but do not wear this title as a badge on my sleeve, nor do I wear any other badge that reflects the person I am, or who I will become. I love who I love and take nothing for granted.

Sincerely, The Open Closet

 

PS. THIS IS JUST AN EXCERPT FROM MY BOOK: “The Open Closet: Letters From A Gay Man” (Available on AMAZON & KINDLE)

If you enjoyed reading this letter and would like to read more, please consider purchasing a copy and help spread awareness of issues  plaguing the LGBT community.

http://www.amazon.com/Open-Closet-Letters-Gay-Man/dp/1530356520/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457716930&sr=8-1&keywords=open+closet+david+ferrell

 

6 thoughts on “Beautiful Boy

  1. This says a lot about you, David, and the difficulty of trying to be what are fathers expect. Tough moments go with the good when you can not live up to someone else’s expectations.

    1. Thank you Rich. It is hard trying to give your best all the time, when failure is inevitable. I have always sought approval from my family, teachers, coaches, and peers…and I guess in some ways I always will. But, through my experience of “coming out” I have learned when acceptance is really needed, and approval is not.

  2. I wonder if your father really knows his expectations, David? Often, people act out their fears and frustrations more than actual anger. To be blunt, they don’t know what they think about teen-age drinking … but they know they need to think something. As a school administrator, I had so many parents ask me what they should think and do. I used to say, “Ask your son or daughter.” It usually works. Every year, I used to ask my sophomores to vote on our grading system … i.e., how much weighting for reading quizzes, essays, in-class writes, etc. About mid-way through the year, as they were all about to get D’s, I tell them how to do … as I always told them, “God doesn’t give out grades. It’s all in the weighting.” It’s equally apropos to parenting … they don’t like growing older, or getting a pot belly, or … or … and then to try and cope with teen-agers, well …

    Sorry … as usual, you get me thinking too much !

Leave a Reply

