Princess

1.2.16 316

Dear Readers,

Once upon a time there lived a little boy who believed himself to be a princess. He wore dresses and adorned his long, flowing hair of gold in ribbons and braids. Despite what you may be thinking, the boy of which I speak, is not me, but, rather one of my former preschool students.

Sometimes I overheard parents and other teachers commenting on this particular child’s behavior saying things like “he’s queerer than a $2 bill” or asking their own child if “he liked boys” as if this particular student was contagious and would infect the others. I could never understand how innocent children learned to be so hateful, until I heard it first-hand.

Sincerely, The Open Closet

 

PS. THIS IS JUST AN EXCERPT FROM MY BOOK: “The Open Closet: Letters From A Gay Man” (Available on AMAZON & KINDLE)

If you enjoyed reading this letter and would like to read more, please consider purchasing a copy and help spread awareness of issues  plaguing the LGBT community.

http://www.amazon.com/Open-Closet-Letters-Gay-Man/dp/1530356520/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457716930&sr=8-1&keywords=open+closet+david+ferrell

 

4 thoughts on “Princess

  1. This is another homerun you utter and complete rascal … my gosh. You’ve got to get into one of the really topnotch writing programs, where the grads go on to be famous: Trinity College Dublin, Middlebury, Kenyon. Honestly, David … you write like a pro … and, by the way, you just wrote my life story here. When my sister couldn’t find a wedding dress for her Barbie … I made her one out of white handkerchiefs, lace and some blue ribbon. Trust me: that was one stunning outfit. Mind you, I wonder why my father thought as she traipsed around the building saying, “Mark made Barbie’s dress.”

  2. Recently I read about the three most destructive words we say to little boys and watched the video that goes with it. “Be a man.” It is a way of discouraging certain behaviors. Why can’t they just be little boys for a while? As always, you have provided a very thoughtful letter.

    1. I agree Rich! Children should have the opportunity to stay young, and be kids while they can…they grow up quickly already, why rush it? We just need to remember to lead by example, and they will become the men and women they should be soon enough 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

