Confessions of a Drag Queen Wannabe

IMG_20150519_185905394

Dear Readers,

Drag is an art form, much like creating a great painting, each color and accessory is chosen to compliment the work. A drag queen’s “look”—is a complete transformation from a man, of all shapes, sizes, and colors, to a women using make-up, duct tape, foam padding, costumes, jewelry, wigs, and other secret accessories to enhance the alternate persona. I have a great respect for drag queens and their role in the LGBT community. Maybe one day, I will have a chance to slip on my heels again, adorn some lipstick, pearls, and learn a few new things from an experienced drag mother! Until then, I will keep my drag obsession between us!

Sincerely, The Open Closet

 

PS. THIS IS JUST AN EXCERPT FROM MY BOOK: “The Open Closet: Letters From A Gay Man” (Available on AMAZON & KINDLE)

If you enjoyed reading this letter and would like to read more, please consider purchasing a copy and help spread awareness of issues  plaguing the LGBT community.

http://www.amazon.com/Open-Closet-Letters-Gay-Man/dp/1530356520/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457716930&sr=8-1&keywords=open+closet+david+ferrell

 

13 thoughts on “Confessions of a Drag Queen Wannabe

    1. They are tucked safely away…in fact, I made my friends promise not to take pictures of me in drag, as I had not “come out” to my family at the time—there are a few floating around, but not many!

    1. As it is with those who take on the challenge…it was fun while it lasted, but, I wouldn’t want to do it as a career 🙂 being a woman is hard work!!! Thanks for reading and sharing!

  1. David, you are among the last people I can imagine as a drag queen. I’m far too shy, so count me out. Friends once did me up and found a blonde wig … and I must say, I wasn’t ugly.

    1. I know of a couple of places…but, have not been to any shows yet! my closest encounters with Drag Queens of Chicago has been this past year’s Pride Parade 🙂

      1. I have seen Honey West host shows. I actually saw him perform as himself years ago. Of course, you can see many at Market Days, a great street festival in August. As for other places, send me a pm of where, especially if you guys go. I confess to a limited knowledge of where and when these shows are.

  2. I still want to see pictures, sir! I’ve been impressed from the descriptions and have been waiting for years to see.

Leave a Reply

