My Life as a Musical

189766_525071042117_6984917_n

If you are a fan of Broadway, like me, then you have undoubtedly wondered what “my life as a musical” would be like. Nowadays, there are so many unique opportunities for works to become successful shows that fit a variety of independent themes. For example, on Broadway today you could easily go from one theater to the next and see a show about a struggling shoe factory owner who forms an unlikely partnership with a drag queen to make custom transvestite footwear in “Kinky Boots”, to a piece about boys from the wrong side of the tracks becoming American popular music icons in “Jersey Boys”, to a classic Roger’s and Hammerstein musical based on a beloved fairytale in “Cinderella,” among many others. Only in New York, and only on Broadway do these dreams become reality.

 

PS. THIS IS JUST AN EXCERPT FROM MY BOOK: “The Open Closet: Letters From A Gay Man” (Available on AMAZON & KINDLE)

If you enjoyed reading this letter and would like to read more, please consider purchasing a copy and help spread awareness of issues  plaguing the LGBT community.

http://www.amazon.com/Open-Closet-Letters-Gay-Man/dp/1530356520/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457716930&sr=8-1&keywords=open+closet+david+ferrell

 

7 thoughts on “My Life as a Musical

  1. I absolutely loved this … love it ! Mind you, I was being dragged to musicals by my parents before I knew I was in love with all the hairy chested heroes! This is fine, fine, fine writing my friend.

      1. Ah … excellent question. I suppose I’d have to go with the guy (of course, I ruin it by not knowing his name) in Carousel. I saw a revival about two years ago … and he rocked my boat.

  2. A couple years ago I watched West Side Story for the first time. Having done a lot of musicals and been to many more, my friends could not believe I had never seen it. I had the album and imagined it in my head often. Doing musicals allowed me to be many things I could never be. It was great. I see you found it to be great also. Thanks for sharing, on to Act 2.

    1. They don’t make movie musicals like they used too! West Side Story is one of those rare musical geniuses that come along once in a lifetime, and if its lucky will always be remembered as such 🙂

      1. It is rare they do not ruin the story when they make a movie from a musical. I could talk for hours on that. West Side Story was a delight, of course I have never seen the play.

Leave a Reply

