My Life as a Musical in 2 Acts

IMG_20160103_135630 - Copy

Dear Readers,

The road to stardom is often a rocky one. Many who try “fail,” while others keep climbing up. For me, I wanted to be successful. I wanted to learn as much as I could from each director, show, and fellow performer. I wanted to know about life from other perspectives, and dig deep into my craft. But, what were my limits? Would I choose to conform?

“Who am I anyway? Am I my resume?” A famous line from “A Chorus Line” began to sink into my mindset. What defines me as a man, gay or straight and whose choice is it? Is it a choice to be gay? Wrestling with identifying the man I was meant to be versus the man I was trying to be, I found it hard for me to always hide behind their head shot, to be the image of one man on paper, but, in reality be someone else, anyone else. I wanted to be different. I wanted to be great. But with each step forward professionally, I took two backwards personally, and vice versa.

 

PS. THIS IS JUST AN EXCERPT FROM MY BOOK: “The Open Closet: Letters From A Gay Man” (Available on AMAZON & KINDLE)

If you enjoyed reading this letter and would like to read more, please consider purchasing a copy and help spread awareness of issues  plaguing the LGBT community.

http://www.amazon.com/Open-Closet-Letters-Gay-Man/dp/1530356520/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457716930&sr=8-1&keywords=open+closet+david+ferrell

 

6 thoughts on “My Life as a Musical in 2 Acts

      1. You WILL publish them, no worries there. I would start shopping them around to New York magazines. According to the New York Times, short stories are “in” at the moment … so seize the day !

  1. Theater is tough and backstage they will love you and hate you at the same time. I worked with a director many times who everyone loved and respected all the time. I think she is part of a rare breed. Thanks for continuing to share your story.

    1. After my initial start to directing, I was also respected…not always understood, but, by the end, the performers could appreciate the methods to get them to achieve their results. I still have much to learn, as do we all for the sake of art 🙂

Leave a Reply

