For Good

IMAG0864-2

Dear Readers,

When you reflect on all the places you have been, the sights you saw, and the people that have weaved in and out of your life do you ever stop and wonder “what if” I had done something different? Said something different? Changed “for good?” Looking back on my life, I have come to regret few things that have occurred, except for one particular incident.

I haven’t spoken about my friend since the day of her funeral, several years ago, although I still think of her often. She was a good friend to me, and I will always remember her fondly, for she taught me many things. The greatest lesson of all was how to be a friend. Being a huge fan of the musical “Wicked” it had been requested that the song “For Good” be sung in her honor at the service. I listened. I cried. And now every time I hear it, I remember her.

Sincerely, The Open Closet

 

PS. THIS IS JUST AN EXCERPT FROM MY BOOK: “The Open Closet: Letters From A Gay Man” (Available on AMAZON & KINDLE)

If you enjoyed reading this letter and would like to read more, please consider purchasing a copy and help spread awareness of issues  plaguing the LGBT community.

http://www.amazon.com/Open-Closet-Letters-Gay-Man/dp/1530356520/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457716930&sr=8-1&keywords=open+closet+david+ferrell

 

5 thoughts on “For Good

  1. Her passing is not your fault. You have mentioned yourself that she had medical problems. You may feel guilty for not patching things up, but you know you can use this as her last lesson for you. This is the most important take away from the sad ending. You honor her by accepting her guidance one more time.
    A friend and former roommate of mine reached out to me in his darkest moments. I did what I thought was right. Ultimately he committed suicide at an early age, mid 20s. Although I frequently denied it to others, I felt I did not know “how to save a life,” and guilt was mine. I too was left with a lesson on friendship. I know your pain.

    1. Thanks Dave for reading and commenting! I always appreciate hearing from my readers. It is funny sometimes the things we wish we could change, despite our knowing we were not entirely to blame, and that we have no power to change the past.

Leave a Reply

