The Choice

1.2.16 518

Dear Readers,

As a child, my grandmother did not have to choose to love me, she did it willingly. Spoiling me as grandparents often do, she blanketed my life with love and inspired me to become anything I wanted to be. Upon telling my grandmother that “I am gay” some twenty years later, she could have said she was ashamed, but instead told me “I love you. I want you to be happy.” Unlike my parents, who believe that love comes with conditions and that being gay is a “choice,” my grandmother only considered my happiness. She never lost sight of who I am and continued to show me her compassion and love. She sat by me as if I were the same little boy, holding my hand as I sobbed into her shoulder from the great loss that I had suffered being rejected from the rest of my family. “They will come around” she said, in her soft and tender voice. “Your mom and dad love you, and always will.” With her words I have to believe there is hope.

Sincerely, The Open Closet

 

PS. THIS IS JUST AN EXCERPT FROM MY BOOK: “The Open Closet: Letters From A Gay Man” (Available on AMAZON & KINDLE)

If you enjoyed reading this letter and would like to read more, please consider purchasing a copy and help spread awareness of issues  plaguing the LGBT community.

http://www.amazon.com/Open-Closet-Letters-Gay-Man/dp/1530356520/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457716930&sr=8-1&keywords=open+closet+david+ferrell

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Choice

  1. If there was a Mt Rushmore for the women of American folk/rock… these are the three! Extraordinary talents as singers/songwriters. And some of my favorite music of all. Great post!

  2. P.S. Wow. That unannounced concert Carly Simon did in Grand Central twenty years ago! I lived about six subway stops uptown from there… gives me chills just thinking about walking into that magnificent space and finding Carly on stage. Only in New York…

Leave a Reply

