A Letter to My Father

IMG_20160104_155300

Dear Father,

What a disappointment I must be to you. You never wanted to have a “gay” son. The very idea of it makes you sick, and I acknowledge that it is not the life you would choose for me if you could. Unfortunately, the decision was never yours to make. I was born gay. The only choice I had in the matter was to “come out” and embrace that being gay is just another layer of the person that I am.

Love, Your Son

 

PS. THIS IS JUST AN EXCERPT FROM MY BOOK: “The Open Closet: Letters From A Gay Man” (Available on AMAZON & KINDLE)

If you enjoyed reading this letter and would like to read more, please consider purchasing a copy and help spread awareness of issues  plaguing the LGBT community.

http://www.amazon.com/Open-Closet-Letters-Gay-Man/dp/1530356520/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457716930&sr=8-1&keywords=open+closet+david+ferrell

 

2 thoughts on “A Letter to My Father

  1. I am sure this must have been difficult to put down. Did you send it to him? I think most fathers come to acceptance, for some it takes a lot longer.
    I never told my father. It seemed he was already disappointed in me for being a bit different. I was not as smart or athletic as my brother. Clearly, I was not the same type of guy. I will never know if he would have accepted me in time or turned away.

    1. It was indeed, but, much harder to read back to myself after the fact. No, I have not sent this letter to my father yet. I am attempting these little steps first. Thanks for your thoughtful response and your continued readership.

Leave a Reply

